Archicad Python API
About automating tasks in Archicad using the Python API.
SOLVED!

Adding objects with Python

atomczak
Beginner

Hi! I'm new to Archicad and wonder what is the best way to programmatically place elements in my model, based on some initial geometry. I came across 4 methods:
1) Creating a script in Param-O
2) Creating a script in Grasshopper with Gh Live Connection
3) Using Python API
4) Developing custom Add-On in C++
I tried the first three. Option 1) failed to do what I want. 2) is nice, but I want to avoid opening additional apps. As far as I can see, the option 3) is great but doesn't allow me to create/add any elements, only read/write on existing objects - is that correct? Option 4) is my last resort but if possible I want to avoid writing bespoke C++.
Can anyone recommend the best way forward and hopefully prove me wrong that it is possible to add new objects from Python code 🙂 ?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution

The present Python API has no capability to add objects to a Archicad Plan. The work around is to create a C++ add On to accomplish your scheme, then using a Python script use the function "CommandHandler" to communicate with that Add on and pass parameters back and forth. In this, case that would not be very efficient since you could accomplish the same by just using a dialog within your add On.

Gerry

Windows 11 - Visual Studio 2022; ArchiCAD 27

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Barry Kelly

I know you said you wanted to do this programmatically (I can't help you with any ideas there sorry), but I would ...

5). Copy & paste from another file.

6). Create a module of the elements that you can merge in when needed.

7). Add those elements to your template so they are there from the beginning.

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
atomczak