BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

GDL
About building parametric objects with GDL.
SOLVED!

Archicad's GDL lamp is duplicating an element when adding "ROTY"

mendezarcediego
Booster

Help please! I've modified Archicad's "Spotlight Kit 25" Lamp object to rotate along its "Y" axis. But when I rotate it, one of its original elements gets duplicated, as if I made a copy as I was rotating.

The object from the screenshot has been rotated 15deg around its "y" axis and 15deg around its "x" axis.

FYI: I'm not a programer but I managed to add the new parameter to the interface and all, I just can't get this "duplicated" element to disappear, I'm sure I copy-pasted some code line without really understanding what it does and that is generating this issue. 

On a separate note, why can't I rotate around the Y axis by default?

Screen Shot 2022-02-23 at 12.48.23.pngScreen Shot 2022-02-23 at 12.54.31.pngScreen Shot 2022-02-23 at 12.48.47.png

AC26–5002 INT FULL/ Win 11 Pro 22621.1992 / Intel i9-13900KF 24C (8P-16E) 3.00 - 5.80 GHz / 64 GB 5600 MHz DDR5 / Nvidia RTX A4500 20GB, Dual 2560x1440.
20 REPLIES 20
Lingwisyer
Guru

From my understanding, the EPS lines will not be the ones giving you the precision error as it only turns up when you use equals. Rounded, it might be equal, but in reality it may not. Hence < EPS is used as it is essentially zero without actually being zero.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660

I checked on my pc  and it is indeed the lines with if bProject2D & ABS(rotAngleX)& ABS(rotAngleY) < EPS then that are generating the error.

My guess is that since bProject2D is a boolean  and it is evaluated as a number as its value is checked against EPS Archicad treats is as a real number.