GDL
About building parametric objects with GDL.
SOLVED!

GDL - Include the name of a surface in the parameters of an object

pedrocollares
Enthusiast

Hi all. I'm new to GDL subjects and I wonder if something I want to do is possible to achieve.

I need to create a 2D object that contain texts that come out of a surface parameter of my GDL object. Surface parameters in GDL I assume that mean only a surface index, and I couldn't find a way to "Get" the surface whole name and make a text out of it.

Surface names in my project follow this convention: "01 | WALL | BOARD FORMED CONCRETE WALL". I want to create a GDL object that contain such surface parameter and is able to print out substrings of that text, in that case "01" and "BOARD FORMED CONCRETE WALL". It should look something like this:

pedrocollares_0-1631064871366.png

If anyone is able to give me some directions, I'd be very thankful! 😊

Architect / BIM Manager at IDEIA1 - www.ideia1.com.br
Archicad 26 / Windows 10 64
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Solution
n = REQUEST ("Name_of_material", superficie_1, surface_name)

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 

View solution in original post

Solution

REQUEST "Name_of_material" returns empty string in parameter script. If you placed it in the master script, there will be an error with the parameter script run. Use GLOB_SCRIPT_TYPE to avoid the parameter script context.

The end of the master script can be avoided by adding a label at the end:

goto "masterEnd"

"subroutines":

return

"masterEnd":

Péter Baksa
Software Engineer, Library as a Platform
Graphisoft SE, Budapest

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
Lingwisyer
Guru