Archicad C++ API
About Archicad add-on development using the C++ API.

Localization strings

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,

I can`t get over following problem:

I have a GRC file with expressions to localize, but I cant make resource compiler to handle them. I tried to modify the compileGRCs.pl file, but its always the same: as soon as it finds a special character, it reports an error. I studied the documentation for several hours and there is described always only a way to sort the files themselves or make references to the strings, but never how to change the encoding.

I found a function called CHGetUserCharCode / CHSetDefaultCharCode but either I`m using it wrong or its not working..

So - where should the localized sentences be? I believe it`s the project_name.grc file under 'STR#' commands? I can now track them via ACAPI_Resource_GetLocStr (without the special characters of course)..

I`m working on macbook with Xcode 3.2.4 and DevKit 14.

Thanks,

Santi
8 REPLIES 8
Ralph Wessel
Mentor
santi wrote:
I have a GRC file with expressions to localize, but I cant make resource compiler to handle them.
Is the resource compiler crashing or failing to produce the required output? If so, can you post the perl script you are using to drive the compiler?
Ralph Wessel BArch
Anonymous
Not applicable
alright, so the compiler stops on
#include "Dim_Round.grc.ro"
in the Dim_Round.r file

and generates an output as:
Converting resource files:
	Dim_RoundFix.grc
	Dim_Round.grc
Cannot get length of string, the string was ok until:

(now the whole grc file until the special character is present, ends before it - it does not display the special character)

The unmappable charater is:
\u0161
Write_Error: GeneralError: Memory allocation error
done.                                                                  

the perl script is as I found it in examples:
#! /usr/bin/perl -w

use FindBin ;
use File::Spec::Functions;
use File::Copy;
use Cwd;