GDL
About building parametric objects with GDL.

What do you guys write gsm/gdl scripts on?

Jack D
Booster

Hello!

I'm pretty new to writing gsm and gdl stuff and I'm trying my hands on it to help out in the firm. The guy who does the scripting, writes it directly on Archicad. Which kinda baffles me. No intellisense, no syntax highlighting, no code snippets. It's like I've regressed back to 1990s. 

So I've found an add-on on vscode but it doesn't read gsm and seems pretty buggy from the github documentation. I'm wondering (and kinda certain), if someone has created an addon for stuff like sublime, notepad ++ or vs 2022, to easily script and debug these kind of files. That said I'm also wondering what do you guys use and how do you go about it.

Side note, I'm more familiar with JS, and python for web dev... hence why I'm asking about these text editors and IDE.

thanks and I hope there's a dev friendlier way of scripting gsm/gdl stuff. 

28 REPLIES 28

I've been coding GDL full time for about 15 years now and I agree it would be nice to have a more modern editor. I manage fine because GDL is where I started my coding journey.

It was only a few years ago that I started using Python and JS and discovered that it is a real pleasure to work with these languages in VS Code with all the efficient modern function. I could imagine being far more productive in my GDL code if the editor was similar.

I definitely do NOT like the idea of coding in another platform and then having to bring it into Archicad to test. As Lingwyser found with Sublime, I would get extremely frustrated by this as I am constantly going back and forth between the GDL code and the object.

Creator of Cadswift's parametric GDL libraries
Creator of Infinite Openings and Component Catalogues
Push the envelope & watch it bend
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/CADSwift/playlists
MetalFingerz
Advocate

It's so weird that even a simple line numbering isn't implemented.