BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Documentation
About Archicad's documenting tools, views, model filtering, layouts, publishing, etc.

Display Order

Anonymous
Not applicable
I have a problem with default display order of elements, I am new to ArchiCad so excuse my lack of knowledge, as far as I understand annotations would be elements with 1st class in terms of priority so they should be in from of anything else, in my case section marks and opening marks are in the back of windows, how to fix that? I am not talking about using the stack order tool to move each item to front, it is annoying, I am talking about setting up default value so anytime I place section mark it's always on top of all 3d elements.

Thank you for help
4 REPLIES 4
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
I believe that by default this is how it should work. Maybe you have already brought that Wall forward in Display Order so now it overlaps Section Lines.
The order you mention applies to the default Display Order levels elements are placed to by default. But if you use Bring to Front/Send to Back, it will change the Display Order relationship between the element moved and other elements placed later:

https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/user-guide/88509/

You can try if this is really not working for you the expected way by starting a brand new ARCHICAD Project based on the default Template and seeing if the issue is there?
Loving Archicad since 1995 - Find Archicad Tips at x.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen9 5900X CPU, 64 GB RAM 3600 MHz, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), Windows 10 PRO ENG, Ac20-Ac27
James B
Graphisoft
Graphisoft
If you're using AC23, then you can also select 1 element, and open the Element Info palette. You'll see the display order index being displayed. Click on the different elements and check the index of each.
Then can use move forward/backward - as Laszlo mentioned.