Documentation
About Archicad's documenting tools, views, model filtering, layouts, publishing, etc.

Finding out Shadow Surface area?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi, I am an Architect working in Norway on a number of housing projects and I often times need to do Sun/shadow analysis. What I mean by that is the following:

Select 2 dates for shadow projection (these dates would typically be June 21. and March 23.) After I have created a view/worksheet with the appropriate date and shadow I usually create a Fill with area text (showing it's m2) to cover the shadow that falls on my building plot (To see how much sun VS shadow there is on the particular dates on the plot).

What I was wondering about was if any of you have a better workflow, because with this process the Fill needs to be adjusted manually every time the building changes. So what I am essentially asking (I think ) is if any of you know of a way to link shadows that fall on a certain plot/area/terrain to a scheduling table. (Or something similar that takes place automatically)

i've been trying to figure out a way to do this (And it would save a lot of time) but haven't.

P.S Sorry if I posted this on the wrong forum
7 REPLIES 7
Hello,

The best way is the way you have to begin all of your project :
1 - define GPS coordination about your origin
2 - define the level from the see about your 0.00 project
3 by B - define your north

You can find all these parameters here :

You have put a well know point of your project on your project origin to be sure you will be able to ask its GPS coordination or to be able to find it by google map

Finaly you can click on "4" to se your project place into google map (very usefull)
Christophe - FRANCE
Archicad Designer and Teacher
Archicad 15 to 27 FRA FULL

OS 11.6 Big Sur - MacBook Pro 2017 - 16Go RAM
"Quality is never an accident ; it's always the result of an intelligent effort" John Ruskin
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks so much for the response Cristophe.