BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Visualization
About built-in and 3rd party, classic and real-time rendering solutions, settings, workflows, etc.

HELP! Can't change color of materials

Anonymous
Not applicable
I constantly struggle with the "Materials" in ArchiCAD, probably because of my lack of knowledge on them. I want to take the material " Siding-4" H" and change the color from the default white to a gray. So, I open Options-Element Attributes-Materials. What do I do from here? I've tried changing the surface color, the specular color, etc to no avail. Can anyone guide me on this seemingly easy task?
15 REPLIES 15
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks, David. Obviously I need to study this stuff to get a handle on the basics.
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi guys, I also struggle with this. I am very new to Archicad so apologies if I'm missing something obvious.

Everything in my 3d window looks grey. I am trying to make a colorbond shed. When I go to options / element attributes / materials I change the surface colour to anything (like bright green) nothing happens in the 3D window. I understand from the posts above that it won't change the 3D it will only change what gets output when you do a photorender. So I do a photorender ane the whole thing still looks grey.

When I choose other items for the walls and roof from the model settings like Brick, the brick colours show up fine in both views showing the texture and the color but the chanegs to the material colour that I make dont' seem to work. I have tried the internal rendering engine and the lightworks rendering engine (I don't really understand what they mean). I have tried all rendering engines in fact both on the material settings and the photo render settings. I select every option that I think could have an impact on the quality of the final render but no good.