Document & Visualize forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to remove "story" info from a favorite.

calebg
Newcomer
I've found that when I create a favorite, for example object or wall, it keeps story info. So if I try to insert that element in a different story, ArchiCAD gives me a message saying

"As a result of the last operation element has been created and/or have changed their position on currently unseen stories".

I know I can change that setting before inserting, but it kind of defeats (partially) the purpose of using favorites. Is there a way to remove "story" info from a favorite so it works relative the story you are in?

I've noticed sometimes it doesn't apply story, but I can't quite find out why/when.

Thanks.
ARCHICAD 21 B.7000 / ARCHICAD 22 B.5009 / ARCHICAD Solo 22 B.5014
macOS High Sierra V.10.13.6
iMac (27-inch, Late2012)
3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 | 16 GB DDR3 | GeForce GTX 675MX 1024MB
14 REPLIES 14

Barry Kelly
Moderator
In version 22 go into the favourite settings and choose "Element transfer settings".
There you can choose what info to use with each transfer setting.

In earlier versions I think it is just call 'Favourite Preferences' or something like that as they don't have the option for multiple transfer settings.

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 25
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 10

Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
See this clip for details:

....................................................................................................
Laszlo Nagy, Lead Moderator, Community Admin
Get Archicad Tips at https://twitter.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen 1700X CPU, 48 GB RAM, NVidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), WIN10 PRO ENG, AC20-AC25
Loving Archicad since 1995

calebg
Newcomer
...Home Story is unchecked and favorite still adds wall on another story, ...am I missing something?
ARCHICAD 21 B.7000 / ARCHICAD 22 B.5009 / ARCHICAD Solo 22 B.5014
macOS High Sierra V.10.13.6
iMac (27-inch, Late2012)
3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 | 16 GB DDR3 | GeForce GTX 675MX 1024MB

calebg
Newcomer
...I think it works. I just needed to change the "Home" once and now it is "live". Is that what I was missing?
ARCHICAD 21 B.7000 / ARCHICAD 22 B.5009 / ARCHICAD Solo 22 B.5014
macOS High Sierra V.10.13.6
iMac (27-inch, Late2012)
3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 | 16 GB DDR3 | GeForce GTX 675MX 1024MB

Barry Kelly
Moderator
calebg wrote:
...I think it works. I just needed to change the "Home" once and now it is "live". Is that what I was missing?
Possibly.
It never used to work at all in older versions but it was also done a little differently then.
Maybe it just needed a little nudge.

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 25
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 10

calebg
Newcomer
Thanks Barry!
ARCHICAD 21 B.7000 / ARCHICAD 22 B.5009 / ARCHICAD Solo 22 B.5014
macOS High Sierra V.10.13.6
iMac (27-inch, Late2012)
3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 | 16 GB DDR3 | GeForce GTX 675MX 1024MB

calebg
Newcomer
Thanks Laszlo!
ARCHICAD 21 B.7000 / ARCHICAD 22 B.5009 / ARCHICAD Solo 22 B.5014
macOS High Sierra V.10.13.6
iMac (27-inch, Late2012)
3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 | 16 GB DDR3 | GeForce GTX 675MX 1024MB

TaniavH
Newcomer
Hi all,
I'm having the same trouble and it's very frustrating - I have changed the Element Transfer Settings multiple times, created several new ones and applied them, but it still attempts to apply a default home story (the one which the favorites were created on) to walls (it seems to have rectified itself for Zones though)....what am I missing?
(using ArchiCAD 22)...
Thanks!

TaniavH
Newcomer
restarting ArchiCAD seems to work....sigh.

toofuerte
Newcomer
This isn't working with the MEP Equipment tool the Element Transfer Settings does not have the Equipment in the Favorite options. There are other options and settings where the Equipment is not an option like an object. Can we get the Equipment tool to not left out.
Gerald Acton "Gary"
Acton Design Services
Windows 10 PRO 64 bit
i7-5820K @ 3.30ghz 32GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 970 4GB Ram
AC 19 - AC 24

Nguyen Minh
Graphisoft Moderator
Graphisoft Moderator
Hi Gerald,

Thank you very much for reporting the issue and I am very sorry about the experience!

I was able to see the issue in Archicad 24. Unfortunately, I cannot offer any explanation for this. The case is being investigated by our colleagues in the Technical Support team. Once we have the conclusion, I will let you know!

Best regards,
Minh

Minh Nguyen
Technical Support Engineer
GRAPHISOFT

Nguyen Minh
Graphisoft Moderator
Graphisoft Moderator
Hi Gerald,

We have just received an explanation from the development. At the moment, when we pick up a parameter from an MEP element, it will use the group of Object. Because of this, you cannot set what kind of properties do you want to transfer.

We planned to enhance this, but there were some complications about the implementation. It turned out to be a big project-size task. I hope that we will be able to correct this in the future.

Thank you very much for pointing out the issue, and I am very sorry for the inconvenience! Please let me know if you have any further question!

Best regards,
Minh

Minh Nguyen
Technical Support Engineer
GRAPHISOFT

gotphish001
Booster
I can't get this to stick. No matter what I change favorites go onto the story I made them on(story1). I made the changes and restarted archicad many times. Using 24 solo. Is there a fix for this? I have favorites to save time but now I still have to manual change something every time I used a favorite unless I happen to be on story 1.
Nick DiPietro
Cad Manager/Monkey
Autodesk Expert Elite
Archicad 24 Solo USA
https://farkasassociates.com/

gotphish001
Booster
This seems like it finally stuck. I didn't even make any changes since I asked the question. I did do the update for 24. Maybe that did it.
Nick DiPietro
Cad Manager/Monkey
Autodesk Expert Elite
Archicad 24 Solo USA
https://farkasassociates.com/

Start a new conversation!

Still looking?

Browse more topics

Back to forum

See latest solutions

Accepted solutions

Start a new discussion!