Documentation
About Archicad's documenting tools, views, model filtering, layouts, publishing, etc.

Image Fill PNG Transparency

crws
Participant

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting so please forgive me if this is off-track!

I'm hoping to use some custom image fills I have drawn in Archicad. They are scanned pngs which have been made transparent for overlaying over each other. They work successfully in Illustrator. This transparency isn't present when imported into Archicad as an Image Fill. 

Is there something I need to do to achieve the results as in Illustrator, or is this not a supported function?

Cheers!

Transparency Not Working In Archicad.pngTransparency Working In Illustrator.png
Archicad 25. Windows 10. Intel 9900k, 64 GB RAM, AMD Vega 64.
6 REPLIES 6
Botonis
Advisor

If you are using Archicad 25 and forward you can use a fill set as Surface-Cover Fill.

Instead of a fill create a material with the png and set it in the fill selection settings.

Check the photo for settings. 

For fill background set the transparent option to enable the transparency channel of png. 

I do not remember if surface cover fill existed before 25.......

Surface Fill.jpg
Botonis Botonakis
Civil Engineer, Enviromental Design MSc., BIM Manager for BS ArhitectsVR
Company or personal website
Archicad 27. Windows 11. Intel Xeon 2699x2,64 GB RAM, Nvidia 3080Ti. 2 Monitors.

Thanks for your reply Botonis! I have managed to get the png to function with the Surface - Texture Fill, but not when using Surface - Cover Fill. However, there is still no transparency using the Surface - Texture Fill option. 

This also doesn't appear to function with a transparent png texture that is built in. I assume transparency works in the same way as it does in 3D where there are issues with multiple overlaid transparent objects.

Botonis
Advisor

Can you check whether your fill background setting is set to transparent?

Also check if you have set any override that alters the fill settings.