BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Documentation
About Archicad's documenting tools, views, model filtering, layouts, publishing, etc.
SOLVED!

Most time efficient way to draw joinery detail drawings?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi all,

I'm very new to archicad, I've only been using it for 2 weeks. My background is Autodesk - AutoCad and Revit.

I'm an interior designer so I have to do a lot of joinery drawings and etc and I just want to know the most time efficient way to create a joinery package.

I've attached a screenshot of what a joinery package should look like at the firm I am in right now.
So basically, in a joinery package I would like to show a plan view, all relevant elevations and sections and also detail callouts etc (please have a look at the attached screenshot for clarification).
What I'm struggling with Archicad right now is the 2D line work it creates within a callout view source, I'm so used to Revit so when I first found out that Archicad callout view source turns everything within the view into 2D line I thought it was a bit weird but I do understand the benefits and advantage of having that option.. but right now I'm struggling to create elevation views from it.
I need to place elevation/section tags on the joinery floor plan and create elevation/sections views but because the joinery plan is a callout and it's 2D I can't elevate/section from that plan.. and I'm using cadimage cabinet so everything's there in 3D and ready to elevate for more detail drawings.

So this is what I'm currently doing now,
- first I create an elevation/section marker on the main floor plan and generate an elevation/section view
- and then I put that marker on to a new layer I created so I can hide it on the main floor plan
- and then I create another elevation/section marker on joinery callout plan and link them to the view I just created in the main floor plan.