BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Documentation
About Archicad's documenting tools, views, model filtering, layouts, publishing, etc.
SOLVED!

Renovation: Ganged Windows

Lingwisyer
Guru
Hi all,

I have a window that is to be removed (width marked by witness lines on the right) and replaced by a larger series of windows. In "Demolishing" this window, a "New" wall is created to fill the hole left behind. A new set of ganged windows is then created spanning over this hole.

It would appear that "New" walls created by "Demolishing" prevent windows, and I would assume doors, from ganging in plan within their area? Is there something I have missed or some work around to get them to gang properly?

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
DGSketcher
Legend
Is this possibly one of those cases where you also need to mark the whole wall or part of it for demolition and then put in a new wall with your openings?
Apple iMac Intel i9 / macOS Sonoma / AC27UKI (most recent builds.. if they work)

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
Solution
DGSketcher
Legend
Is this possibly one of those cases where you also need to mark the whole wall or part of it for demolition and then put in a new wall with your openings?
Apple iMac Intel i9 / macOS Sonoma / AC27UKI (most recent builds.. if they work)
Lingwisyer
Guru
One window was set as "Demolished" while the other is set to "New". The "New" wall is the automatic fill when you demolish something that penetrates the existing wall.

As in create a second wall set to "New" in which the new windows live? I guess that would work.

Ling.

DGSketcher
Legend