Visualization
About built-in and 3rd party, classic and real-time rendering solutions, settings, workflows, etc.

Sun Study Yellow Glow

Lingwisyer
Guru
Hi all,

Is there a way to do a Sun Study without the glow off the building side facing the sun? A grey scale video where it looks like you have yellow flood lights pointing out of your buildings...

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 
8 REPLIES 8
PVBergkrantz
Expert
Adjust the reflection on the material you use for the facade, and maybe change the color of the sun in the render settings.
| AC 25 Int | Win10 | i7-7800X | 32 GB | GeForce RTX 2060 6GB |

Lingwisyer
Guru
It is a white model rendered as monochrome so I did not think the material made any difference. Turned off reflections anyway to no difference.

Can you change the colour of the sun in CineRender? Sky colour warmth?

Ling.

PVBergkrantz
Expert
Depending on your settings there are different ways to adjust it. One is the date and time for the sun, afternoon or morning suns can be very yellowish, so changing the time of the render might work. Or under Environment>Sun you can chose to use custom colors and set the color of the sun whatever you want. If you are using physical render you can also adjust the white balance, under Physical render>Physical camera>Camera white balance, a lower value = bluer image.

Try some of that or post an image of your yellow picture for further investigation.

Lingwisyer
Guru
It is not a yellow cast across the render caused by the white balance setting, nor the colour of the rising or setting sun as it is limit to the the edge of buildings on the sunward side.

Ling.

PVBergkrantz
Expert
Can you post the file? The picture is pretty small and difficult to say much about, but it looks to me like yellow light from a yellow sun (or sky depending on your settings) is being reflected onto the ground.