Document & Visualize forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

View options for walls in plan

rm
Enthusiast

This is a scenario that pops up for us constantly and is a problem Graphisoft should really explain why they don't address this issue.

 

Model a short or multi-story wall on a "lower story" tall enough to show up in the cut plane height illustrating all the materials in the wall.  Move a story up and assume you need to see that wall in plan, that was placed on the "lower story".  Guess what, often there is NO clean solution to have this happen.

 

The big question is, why can't we show a wall in plan on any story, irrespective of what story it was placed on, like with roofs and slabs?!?!?  Why does this inconsistent behavior of the most used construction tool/element (walls) exist?  It makes no sense at all.

 

Graphisoft, you NEED to fix this!!!

Robert Mariani
MARIANI design studio, PLLC
Architecture / Architectural Photography
www.robertmariani.com

Mac OSX 11.6
AC 24 / 25
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Solution
Eduardo Rolon
Moderator

Lets tone it down

 I do see the point of @SenecaDesignLLC  and @Lingwisyer . This is not a Wall setting but a cut plane setting.

@rm see following screenshots and tell me what I am missing

 

--Walls in 3D with custom profile and on different stories

Screen Shot 2021-10-13 at 9.46.10 AM.png

--Walls in floor plan-- Label is set to display story name

 

Screen Shot 2021-10-13 at 9.45.59 AM.png

 -- Cut plane settings

 

Screen Shot 2021-10-13 at 9.46.24 AM.png

 -----

Walls are set to "All relevant stories" but as @Lingwisyer indicated this is a blunt approach and there might be other items affected by the change in cut plane so your wish for more options is not a bad idea.

eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro 2.4 i9 32GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20

DGSketcher
Virtuoso

100% and should be a priority. The options should be Home/Relevant/Custom for all the 3D tools. Apart from delivering users with a consistent interface, I would have thought it would help GS consolidate their coding to be running the same setting options. Win, Win. 

Apple iMac macOS Big Sur / AC24UKI (most recent builds)

SenecaDesignLLC
Advocate

I show walls through multiple stories all the time? Not sure what I'm missing about your post but maybe a screen shot of what you want and what you are getting?

Short walls I understand but I have never needed them to show the same?

 

To me things function as you would think based on the view?  Maybe it's just how I use the stories?

AC 24, Twinmotion current, Windows 11, Msi 10UG with rtx 3070, wacom intuos pro m, Wacom Cintiq Pro 16, razer Tartarus pro.

Hi SenecaDesignLLC -

 

In the case I'm referring, we have a foundation plan with full height walls and low height walls.  We want the plan to indicate the materials consistently at the cut plane.  That we can get working just fine at the foundation plan.

 

Now go up a story, and the low walls that show as cut on our foundation plan, will not project up to the 1st floor.

 

I have attached a screen shots of a portion of the foundation plan, walls show correctly.  Then a screen shot from the floor above and the short wall (height) of the foundation plan can be seen ONLY if trace reference view is toggled on.

 

Thirds screen shot shows the trace reference off, and the low wall below no longer can be seen.

 

You may be getting the results you want, but you may not have a similar graphics/design issue that we have on our project.

 

Bottom line, it makes no sensenthat slabs and roofs have many more options than walls for projections on construction documents.  We need to be spend less time on "work-arounds" to produce Construction Documents that we can easily and quickly produce the old school way, ie., pencil and paper.

 

Screen Shot 1.pngScreen Shot 2.pngScreen Shot 3.png

 

 

Robert Mariani
MARIANI design studio, PLLC
Architecture / Architectural Photography
www.robertmariani.com

Mac OSX 11.6
AC 24 / 25

In those views how many stories down have you specified to show for the cut plane settings

AC 24, Twinmotion current, Windows 11, Msi 10UG with rtx 3070, wacom intuos pro m, Wacom Cintiq Pro 16, razer Tartarus pro.

Steve Jepson
Advisor

It has taken many long years to get all of the modeling Elements to Show on All Stories - now I think the Wall is the only one that does not do that. 2021-10-08_13-11-35.jpg

Why is that?  Would that cause some sort of problem in the program?  

ArchiCAD 25 4013 USA - Windows 10 Pro 64x - Dell 7720 64 GB 2400MHz ECC - Xeon E3 1535M v6 4.20GHz - (2) 1TB M.2 PCIe Class 50 SSD's - 17.3" UHD IPS (3840x2160) - Nvidia Quadro P5000 16GB GDDR5 - Maxwell Studio/Render 5.2.1.49- Multilight 2

Maybe I have just gotten so used to doing things the way I do them that it's never been something I've even considered an issue

AC 24, Twinmotion current, Windows 11, Msi 10UG with rtx 3070, wacom intuos pro m, Wacom Cintiq Pro 16, razer Tartarus pro.

You probably do the same thing as I do: model some sort of end detail of the wall with a slab, roof, beam or shell that does have this option (show on all stories etc).

 

To be fair, with how picky the BIM standards are around here (Netherlands) I pretty much HAVE to model a lot of things seperately that could be part of one big complex profile. Walls also 'cannot' span more than one story in those standards (ouch!).

Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-24 NED FULL
Windows 10 Pro
Adobe Design Premium CS5

This is what we should be seeing in all 3D tools. (Taken from the Roof tool.)

Screenshot 2021-10-11 at 09.21.46.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

Apple iMac macOS Big Sur / AC24UKI (most recent builds)

Lingwisyer
Virtuoso

From foundation to ground, just increase your Relative Floor Plan Range and set the walls to All Relevant Stories? It is still very rough and is sometimes too much of a broad hammer...

AC18-23 AUS 7000
Self-taught, bend it till it breaks.
Win10 | E5620 x 2 | 24GB | K2200

It may be a solution, but it is also the polar opposite e.g. you start displaying stuff you don't want to see.

Apple iMac macOS Big Sur / AC24UKI (most recent builds)

Steve Jepson
Advisor

So what is the reason Walls are not able to display on all Stories when everything else can ?  It was certainly an intentional decision.  

ArchiCAD 25 4013 USA - Windows 10 Pro 64x - Dell 7720 64 GB 2400MHz ECC - Xeon E3 1535M v6 4.20GHz - (2) 1TB M.2 PCIe Class 50 SSD's - 17.3" UHD IPS (3840x2160) - Nvidia Quadro P5000 16GB GDDR5 - Maxwell Studio/Render 5.2.1.49- Multilight 2

rm
Enthusiast

Here is another example that illustrates the problem with not being able to show walls on any or all stories desired.  In the attached images, there are two retaining walls built perpendicular to each other in the screen shots.  Some of the walls are modeled on Story 1 (the taller ones), some on a lower level.  They all have stone coping on them.  The stone coping is modeled with a custom profile and applied to walls.  But as you can see in the plan view image, only the stone coping placed on Story 1 can be seen on story 1.  Stone coping placed on lower levels will not display.  This is so frustrating that GS does not give us the ability to view walls from any story to any story.  BTW, changing the cut plane to below the 1 story changes nothing in plan view to help show the coping below, as suggested by someone else here.

 

PLEASE GS, give us walls we can see on any story from any story, as with floor slabs and roofs.

 

Screen Shot 2021-10-12 at 3.35.16 PM.pngScreen Shot 2021-10-12 at 3.35.51 PM.png

 

 

Robert Mariani
MARIANI design studio, PLLC
Architecture / Architectural Photography
www.robertmariani.com

Mac OSX 11.6
AC 24 / 25

Not the cut plane but the amount of stories below. I have no issues showing walls like you have drawn with the proper settings.

AC 24, Twinmotion current, Windows 11, Msi 10UG with rtx 3070, wacom intuos pro m, Wacom Cintiq Pro 16, razer Tartarus pro.

There is no option for walls, to set visibility of how many stories above or below the story they are placed on, as can be with the slab, roof and morph tools. You have mentioned 2x now it can be done, everyone else here is saying it can't be done.  If you can model what I have shown and cause it to properly display on multiple stories as an architect needs it to be indicated, then by all means, feel free to show us how that is done and what settings it takes to do it.

Robert Mariani
MARIANI design studio, PLLC
Architecture / Architectural Photography
www.robertmariani.com

Mac OSX 11.6
AC 24 / 25

I am not talking about wall settings.

I am talking about viewable stories inside the cut plane settings.

Match that with the correct view settings for the wall and there you go. 

If you want a solution post a link to your file, I'm not going to waste my time creating a file to prove a point if you respond with such hostility.

AC 24, Twinmotion current, Windows 11, Msi 10UG with rtx 3070, wacom intuos pro m, Wacom Cintiq Pro 16, razer Tartarus pro.

Solution
Eduardo Rolon
Moderator

Lets tone it down

 I do see the point of @SenecaDesignLLC  and @Lingwisyer . This is not a Wall setting but a cut plane setting.

@rm see following screenshots and tell me what I am missing

 

--Walls in 3D with custom profile and on different stories

Screen Shot 2021-10-13 at 9.46.10 AM.png

--Walls in floor plan-- Label is set to display story name

 

Screen Shot 2021-10-13 at 9.45.59 AM.png

 -- Cut plane settings

 

Screen Shot 2021-10-13 at 9.46.24 AM.png

 -----

Walls are set to "All relevant stories" but as @Lingwisyer indicated this is a blunt approach and there might be other items affected by the change in cut plane so your wish for more options is not a bad idea.

eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro 2.4 i9 32GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

View solution in original post

Thanks for posting screen shots of your settings.  We were doing just as you showed.  Then we were saving the changes to the drawing with the "Redefine with Current Window Settings".  For some reason, the settings were not actually getting saved to the drawing, so every time we went back to the Cut Plan settings, they reverted back to where they would not display the walls a story down.

 

We deleted the file and went back to an earlier version and applied the same steps.  This time the settings "took" and now we can get the results we were hoping for.  I'm not sure why it was not working on the other file, perhaps it had some level of corruption.

 

So I stand corrected, what SenecaDesignLLC was describing can work and what you showed in your screen shots can work.  

 

That all said, I still would be helpful to have a consistent tool set functionality for the wall settings that is available in the roofs, slabs and morphs relative to display options story to story.

 

Thank you.

Robert Mariani
MARIANI design studio, PLLC
Architecture / Architectural Photography
www.robertmariani.com

Mac OSX 11.6
AC 24 / 25

I might have to try this graph paper looking 2D background usually I'm working in a really really dark gray cuz I hate white but that yellow looks very pleasant on the eyes

AC 24, Twinmotion current, Windows 11, Msi 10UG with rtx 3070, wacom intuos pro m, Wacom Cintiq Pro 16, razer Tartarus pro.

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator

Just to be sure (and for other users), remember that cut plane settings are saved by view so when opening a view with different cut plane settings and then moving to a different story items might look weird.

eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro 2.4 i9 32GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

Start a new conversation!

Still looking?

Browse more topics

Back to forum

See latest solutions

Accepted solutions

Start a new discussion!