BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Visualization
About built-in and 3rd party, classic and real-time rendering solutions, settings, workflows, etc.

problem with alpha channel, need help?

Anonymous
Not applicable
I'm very new to ArchiCAD...I created an alpha channel texture in order to get joints on a wood floor, but when I rendered it (lightworks) w/ the bump map selected, there is a strange texture that shows up in what looks like a tile pattern (there are perfect portions of the floor adjacent to the textured portions...looks like the 'tile' pattern). Any ideas on how to fix this as it is obvious the floor would look a lot better w/ the joints?

Top: w/o bump map
Bottom: w/ bump map

7 REPLIES 7
Dwight
Newcomer
It also seems that there's some noise in the mask that adds roughness to the surface. Can you post an image of your mask?
Dwight Atkinson
Anonymous
Not applicable
I thought it might be the mask too, so I double checked it for noise. I think it is clean.

Dwight
Newcomer
displacment settings?
Dwight Atkinson
Anonymous
Not applicable
What are displacement settings and where are they? I'll test them to see if they can resolve the problem.

WHAT I FOUND OUT:
It only happens when a TEXTURE has an Alpha Channel w/ Bump Map selected and, only with Reflections & Specular are turned on. If either Reflection or Specular is off, the problem disappears. When turned on, reflection can not be set to higher than 25 or the speckle affect will return, but the floor looks dull.

WHAT I CHECKED: different lights, sun, background, map w/o alpha channel but w/ bump map selected, specular color variations, original PhotoShop texture in tif and pct. Tested some of the settings in Lightworks Effects (ultimately I set them on highest). The problem is only w/ the Lightworks rendering engine.