Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Roof rafters and ceiling joists

Anonymous
Not applicable
I'm not sure if this belongs in here or in the Construction Documentation section, but it made more sense here to me.

I'm trying to correctly model a residential light wood framing wall section with a vaulted ceiling and running into a couple of issues. I'm still very new to ArchiCAD so hopefully there are some easy fixes for these issues, but I searched the forums for everything that I thought might be relevant and didn't find anything to address these specific issues.

Firstly, how can I show the roof rafter and ceiling joist intersection properly? In this situation, we have a "vaulted" ceiling that intersects the roof framing where the ceiling joists are offset from the rafters and framed into the roof rafters, so they would actually continue beyond the rafter line like shown, but how can I show the gypsum board in the section to stop where the rafters and joists intersect? Obviously they would not be putting gypsum board in the inaccessible attic space above the ceiling joists, so we need to show the gypsum board stop and wrap around the ceiling corner. The only way I can think of to accomplish this is either using fills to block out parts of the rafters and joists or creating two roof types, one with gypsum board on the bottom and one without in appropriate places.

Secondly, is the only way to show the rafter-wall intersection properly going to be by SEO'ing parts of the wall away? We need to show the stud framing and sheathing come up into the rafter as the bearing element, with the brick veneer stopping at the underside of the rafter tail, covered by the frieze board trim piece.

If anyone could shed some light onto this situation I would greatly appreciate it.
4 REPLIES 4
Gerald Hoffman
Advocate