Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Running ArchiCAD on Virtual PC for Mac?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi -

I am an architectural student and am in the process of purchasing a Mac and ArchiCAD. I am a long time PC user and would like to run Windows on my Mac, thus I was considering purchasing Virtual PC for Mac, by Microsoft.

So here's my dilemma...
To operate ArchiCAD on my Mac, I need to be running either Windows or Mac OS. If I get Virtual PC, do I buy ArchiCAD for Windows? Or can I buy ArchiCAD for Mac? If I get ArchiCAD for Windows and run it through Virtual PC, does my Mac run any slower? Has anyone out there experienced this?

Or is the obvious thing to do is just get ArchiCAD for Mac, and get the Mac OS?

Any thoughts? Comments?

25 REPLIES 25
Anonymous
Not applicable
You would definitely not want to run archicad through virtual pc. It would be much too slow. The best thing to do is use virtual pc for only those programs that you cannot live without that do not have a mac equivalent. The new AC9 is crossplatform so one installation CD works for both mac and pc.
Anonymous
Not applicable
Millard - Thank you very much for the response. That definitely helps.
Djordje
Ace
You don't have to have a Mac; ArchiCAD works on both, the protection key is interchangeable, the installation CD is crossplatform.

Enjoy!
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... 1995
HP Omen
glenn_peters
Contributor
But Djordje -- maybe he wants a Mac!

A recent issue of InfoWorld has some interesting coverage of IBM's Power5 CPU and how this RISC chip surpasses the 64-bit architecture from Intel and AMD.

Read the article on-line at:
http://www.infoworld.com/article/04/12/10/50FEpower5_1.html?s=feature

With Apple poised to use a version of these RISC chips in their high-end computers later this year (?), I would hope that the "dark period" for Mac users running ArchiCAD (AKA the late-1990s) is finally past.