Becoming a digital architect

Frank Harper
Booster

In 1994, I graduated from school and started a 2 years apprenticeship with the aim to become a technical draftsman. As part of the German dual training, there is a theoretical component, which is lectured at technical school and a practical component, which I was trained at an architectural office.

I was offered a position in a small architectural office, which employed only two architects.
There, I was introduced to Archicad 4.55. By then, the office worked on Apple Macintosh PowerPCs, which could handle the complexity of our projects.

Whilst I learned how to use different digital pens on the computer, the school however trained us to use ink pens on paper. Having learned and used both ways, it helped me to understand the digital world better.

When undertaking my studies at school, I was keen on looking over the architects’ shoulders.
The office project, that I was involved with was a refurbishment of an old barn, where everything was crooked.  Having done a site survey of the old barn, we fed the details into Archicad and modelled walls, beams and trusses in order to achieve the best possible basis for the new design. It was fascinating to see the design becoming a ‘digital twin’.

During my 2 years training as a draftsman, I spent extra time at the office to watch the digital modelling in 3D, calculating and extracting 2d plans from the model. As computers were not as elaborately as today, the final plans needed some time before everything could be published.