Setup & License forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archicad 17 installer crash. Help :(

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello everyone in the forum.

First post. I'm a bit desperate with archicad installation from servers to go on a trial run.

I downloaded the trial and clicked on it -> unpacked, and then -> nothing.

My laptop has windows 8.1 64bit, i5 cpu, gfx gt630m hybrid and 6gb ram. It should be enough.

Java: I have the update 51, recent, and also tried to uninstall it and just use the one that comes with archicad. Problem persists. Even with 32bit package installed as well.

Windows event log:

Faulting application name: archive.exe, version: 17.0.0.3002, time stamp: 0x51878649
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.3.9600.16502, time stamp: 0x52c35a76
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00048ecb
Faulting process id: 0x17f4
Faulting application start time: 0x01cf3dec0c7a58fb
Faulting application path: C:\Users\Loyd\AppData\Local\Temp\ArchiCAD 17 INT\ArchiCAD 17\archive.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: 4a3f8929-a9df-11e3-8258-08606e016c50
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

I was so eager to try this software but never managed to make it work. I also have eset antivirus and deactivated before installing. Also tried version 16 with same results. I also granted admin rights.

Any suggestions? Help!
13 REPLIES 13

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
Could be a bad download. RE-download and check that the file size matches the description.
eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro M1 Max 64GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

Vectorworks 2022

Anonymous
Not applicable
ejrolon wrote:
Could be a bad download. RE-download and check that the file size matches the description.
Will do. Downloading it again.

I'll report back with results.

Anonymous
Not applicable
Same result. Doesn't launch the installer.
Fault bucket 73083206196, type 1
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: archive.exe
P2: 17.0.0.3002
P3: 51878649
P4: archive.exe
P5: 17.0.0.3002
P6: 51878649
P7: c000041d
P8: 00013456
P9:
P10:

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
Did you check the file size? I think GS has updated their servers but sometimes you need to try the download multiple times until you get it.
eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro M1 Max 64GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

Vectorworks 2022

Anonymous
Not applicable
727 MB (762 353 912 bytes)

What does it mean? HEre's what I got from file properties.

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
Based on the webpage the download should be 873MB for Windows or 832 for Mac. Therefore the download you have is not complete or it was reset after a time. You will need to either keep trying until you get a full download or install a Download Manager to verify that it is complete. FWIW this has happened before and in one case I had to try about 5 times before getting the complete download.
eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro M1 Max 64GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

Vectorworks 2022

Anonymous
Not applicable
Odd,

the page at myarchicad says

ArchiCAD 17 International, Vista/7/8 (64 bit) (764MB)

It doesn't match

Are you sure? Were's that download at?

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
the download should be at myarchicad.com

Just to be sure your computer is running 8.1 64Bits?
eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro M1 Max 64GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

Vectorworks 2022

Anonymous
Not applicable
Yes. Windows 8.1

I made this post because I haven't yet found out articles about this. I'm not of bothering people, so I posted as last resort because I'm clueless.

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
from another link

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 12:50 pm Post subject: Re: I cannot download ArchiCAD 17 educational version Report suspicious content) Reply with quote
I've heard back from Csaba in tech support about this issue: The problem is with Internet Explorer 11.

Tech support advises trying again with a different browser. E.g., try Chrome, etc.

I'd try Barry's suggestion of Compatibility View first, as some other sites also report that being added to that list restores functionality.
_________________
http://archicad-talk.graphisoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=44887&start=0
eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro M1 Max 64GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

Vectorworks 2022

Anonymous
Not applicable
I'm using chrome and even installed safari, but the download size was still the same. With IE11 I checked the compatibility view and still got the same size.

I'm being left out of the revolution

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
I am stumped. Last try would be to download on another computer or install a download manager to rule out that the download is the problem. FWIW in one occasion somebody had to try over 5 times to get one usable file.
eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro M1 Max 64GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

Vectorworks 2022

Still looking?

Browse more topics

Back to forum

See latest solutions

Accepted solutions

Start a new discussion!