Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Manager!

Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

Archicad IFC Model Exchange for Revit 2020 + Windows 11 ARM Parallels M1 Chip Mac

Susan B
Participant

Hello,

I'm attempting to install the Revit 2020 IFC model exchange on a new M1 laptop running the latest windows 11, and I am getting an error that says

"IFC Model Exchange with Archicad for Revit 2020 Installer detected that the operating system on this computer is out-of-date. Installation could not start. Please install the latest updates and try again. The application will exit now."

I am running the installer as an administrator, I have disabled all firewalls and virus scanners/busters, and have updated and upgraded all windows-related options, and am still getting this error. It is a licensed version of Revit, Archicad, and Windows.

Is this a known issue, or is there another way to install this that might be possible?

Thank you!

Screen Shot 2022-05-09 at 10.33.45 AM.pngPNG image.pngScreen Shot 2022-05-09 at 10.35.12 AM.png
3 REPLIES 3
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin

The IFC Model Exchange with Archicad for Revit 2020 Installer was created about 2-3 years ago (Revit 2020 was released in April 2019). At that time there was no Windows 11, there was no Apple M1 processor. So there is no way the installer could be ready to run on such a system configuration, probably this is why it gives you this error message. 

The only think you may try is download the latest version from here:

https://graphisoft.com/downloads/interoperability

But the last time it was modified was  Jan. 20, 2020, so it may behave the same way (or you may be actually using the latest version). Besides that I don't think you can do anything about that.

Archicad is not compatible with Apple M1 processors yet. Hopefully, it will be soon.