BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

Help! I just want to draft!

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am just getting started on ArchiCAD v8.1 on my new iMac, and while I'm not having any problems learning the basics of how to "create" a model and a set of drawings... I am left wondering: Can I just 2D draft with this program???!!! I have just started working with an architect (telecommute/working at home) who does not utilize the 3D stuff much at all and just needs me to produce 2D construction documents. I'm starting to think that this is not the program to accomplish this... everything seems to have to relate to the 3D model or it won't "draw" it in plan mode correctly.

Help!
14 REPLIES 14
TomWaltz
Participant
You can draw whatever you want, but the whole idea of Archicad is to model more and draw less. Trying to draw extensively will require even more workarounds than modeling would (probably a LOT more).
Tom Waltz
Dwight
Newcomer
Archicad helps you work out the overall building solution in a way drawings cannot. Like that beer that reaches the places other beers can't.

You'll profit by modeling the architect's structure and give better service because the 3D "reality" of the model will reveal building assembly problems that drafters often gloss over, leading to the generous audio stimulation of tradesmens' curses.

It may take a while to see the profit potential in this, but using the modeling/BIM aspect of Archicad gives you better productivity in CD production.

An example of this is that once the building is modeled, elevations and sections are created and maintain their 3D relationships throughout element editing. A little extra time at the beginning delivers design change efficiency later.