Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

New and keen

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi Folks,
I'm new to ArchiCAD and would appreciate some advise.

My first project is to make a site plan for a vacant parcel.
I have the surveyors boundary survey and the topography (the points file and the AutoCAD contour plan).
I want to start by getting this info into ArchiCAD and obtaining a 3D view of the land.
Then I propose doing a site plan that will conform to various zoning regulations.

How would you suggest I go about this task.
I have lots to learn but presently I just want to get an outline plan of the correct approach.

Thanks in advance.

Rog
12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable
try this

http://archicad-talk.graphisoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=14819

http://www.archicad.ca/index.php?paged=2

http://www.archicad.ca/?p=12

but anyway for creating roads..etc... i prefer te way discribed in link rather than in PDF
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks for your helpfull links.
Will try the various strategies.

How do I create a mesh from the AutoCAD contour polylines?
Anonymous
Not applicable
Rog wrote:

ok..
u know now how to have a DWG as an external drawing..get the file..

trace the lines with magic wand... " select line tool ... Space bar and click.. on each one"

then read the links.. "PDF file" and u will be on the right track
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks again.
Now I have lots to do.

Will keep you posted on my progress / failures

Anonymous
Not applicable
whatever wrote:
Rog wrote:

ok..
u know now how to have a DWG as an external drawing..get the file..

trace the lines with magic wand... " select line tool ... Space bar and click.. on each one"

then read the links.. "PDF file" and u will be on the right track
Watch out for those DWGs though. Sometimes they will generate VERY complex meshes. It's often easier to trace over the contours with splines to give better control of the magic wand settings.
Dwight