Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.
SOLVED!

Plotters for Mac 10.3.2

Anonymous
Not applicable
I'm having difficulty finding a plotter that will work with OS 10.3.2. I am using a Power Book G4, and ArchiCad 8.1. I want to be able to plot onto 2' wide media. Colour is not essential, but it would be nice.
Has anyone found anything that works?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Dave Jochum
Advocate
Tanny wrote:
According to the HP website, none of their wide format plotters will work with OS 10.3.2 specifically. I've tried the HP 120nr which is suppose to be fine for "10.2.1 and higher", with the most recent driver and none of the plotter settings were available. What is AFAIK?
As far as I know (AFAIK), the only problems with HP plotters are the lack of factory drivers. I've been using GimpPrint with my HP 488CA for a few years with virtually no problems. With Panther, of course, GimpPrint is built in, but since Retrospect is not yet Panther compatible (due out Monday), I haven't switched to 10.3, so I can't help there. Check the GimpPrint website @ http://gimp-print.sourceforge.net/MacOSX.php3. The new alpha version 5.0.0, though not completely stable, suredly supports most all HP plotters. The website has all the info, including supported machines.
Dave Jochum
J o c h u m A R C H I T E C T S http://www.jochumarchitects.com
MBP 16" (M1 Max) 64 GB•OS 13.5.2•AC 27 Silicon (latest build)

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable
AFAIK most plotters and wide format printers will work with OS X. Which have you looked at?
Anonymous
Not applicable
Matthew wrote:
AFAIK most plotters and wide format printers will work with OS X. Which have you looked at?