Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

Seeking advice on what computer to buy for ArchiCAD 12

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello all,

I'm a network administrator for a customer who has previously been running AutoCAD 2002, and is finally taking the step to draw in 3D. They are about to purchase ArchiCAD 12 and 4-5 new computers at the same time. A good opportunity to look over their IT platform on the client-side.

The budget has been decided, which means so has most of the platform: We're going to run MS Windows and MS Office on an HP xw4600 Workstation with 4Gb RAM, two disks in a RAID-0 set, and an Nvidia Quadro graphics board. The machines will probably be in use for 3 to 5 years, possibly running ArchiCAD 12 without future version upgrades during their lifetime (don't know how much cash the future holds). So I come here seeking advice on only a few remaining issues.

ArchiCAD performance:
1) Is there a difference in ArchiCAD 12 performance between an Intel Core 2 Quad machine and an Intel Core 2 Duo machine that have otherwise identical hardware?
2) Is there a difference in ArchiCAD 12 performance between a Vista machine and an XP machine that have identical hardware?
3) Is there a difference in ArchiCAD 12 performance between a Vista 64-bit machine and a Vista 32-bit machine that have otherwise identical hardware?
4) Nvidia Quadro FX3700 with 512Mb - Would it be enough, or should I get an even more powerful board? And how well are Nvidia's Quadro drivers doing these days?

Other concerns:
1) What would be a suitable display type for an ArchiCAD user? I've suggested 24-inch widescreen displays at 1920 by 1200 pixels. Would that be a good choice? What other factors should I look at when picking out a display?
2) What would be a suitable pointing device - I'm thinking Logitech MX Revolution Laser mouse. Good idea?