Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

Slab Editing

Anonymous
Not applicable
After 20 years of using AutoCAD I am new to Archicad. Please bear with me as I ask what must be very basic questions to some of you.

I purchased the educational version of ArchiCAD 9 a couple of years back. I purchased Virtual Tutor 9 at the same time. I have spent limited time learning ArchiCAD 9 with the help of the tutor. It was just enough to know I wanted to try the full program.

I have recently purchased the full license. I have version 11 and have recently received version 12. I have ordered the tutor for 11 but it has not come yet.

At the moment I am using the Virtual Tutor with ArchiCAD 9 to learn the basics. I will switch to the 11 tutor when it arrives.

Here is my first question:

In the editing slabs section of the tutor there is an exercise to modify a boomerang shape to a Swiss Cross. The exercise shows how to select the slab and then activate the edit tools by left clicking on the slab. It shows how to add a node and then to align the new node at a relative distance from an existing slab node.

The exercise says to click the add-a-node function, then to move the cursor over an existing node until the cursor pen turns black. The tutor then shows how to type in “X” (or “Y”) and a specified distance in order to align the new node at a 90 degree angle, and at the specified distance, from the existing node.

I select the slab, I left click on a slab segment and the edit function box appears. I make sure that the add-a-node function is selected. I then move the cursor over an exiting node, type “X”, and then type -20 to align the new node at negative 20 units to the left of the original node. The new node aligns horizontally but not at 20 units.