Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

coming from Revit and need some info...

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello
this thread is not to spark a "mine is better than yours..."
I have been using Revit for the past 2 years and I dabbed in Archicad back in version 5 for a short while... I wonder if you could answer a couple of questions for me:
1. Is creating families (or blocks) is easy enough to do? do i just use extrude, blend and so forth? are they fully parametric in the project?
2. Is information in the project can be controlled from any place? i.e, can I change the model on the sheet or change a door in the door schedule and the change will carry through?
3.how do you find documentations in Archicad? if you used Revit and can compare....
4. is it possible to control depth in elevations and sections with more than one plain? (there is no depth control in Revit atm)
5. If you used Revit before, why are you using Archicad now?

I will probably have some more later
again, I don't want to create a debate, just need some info.
thanks in advance.
7 REPLIES 7
Rob
Graphisoft
Graphisoft
1. yes, it is possible to create an object (alias library part, block, family) from 2D or 3D elements by simply drawing/modeling them up. However, to make them fully parametric (so, yes they can be parametric in the project), you have to define internal logic/parameters in GDL. That would be in GDL editor (a part of AC). Some can see that as disadvantage, but I do not. It basically allows you to control fully 2D appearance independently on 3D representation, definition and interaction of parameters like when parameter A="calculate them" you can define an action like B=F*tangent(angle)+P, R="calculating..." etc. +!!! what Revit does NOT have is that you can create your own interface with illustrative images and, for example, tabbed layout of parameters etc. It is a vast land of possibilities and customizations.

2. yes