Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

iMac or PC

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi Everyone,

I'm about to purchase a new computer to run archicad 19 and photoshop.
Currently i am a final year student and working for a modular building company, so my files generally aren't massive unless its a university project. At the moment run everything off an outdated macbook pro with pretty base model specs and it's nearly had it.

I am definitely more interested in the mac however i wanted some advice and comparison to a PC i was quoted through work, any comments would be great.

I was quoted $3088 AUD for a PC with the following specs:
-EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0 4gb
-Gigabyte H97-Gaming 3 Motherboard
-Microsoft 7 Pro 64but with SPM OEM
-Microsoft Office 2013 Home & Business
-Fractal Design Define R5 Mid Tower Black
-Corsair Vengeance Red CMZ16GX3M4X1866C9R 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3
-Antex Edge 650W 80 Plus Gold power Supply
-Intel Core 17 4790K

Also at the moment i have 27inch Thunderbolt display so with his computer i would need to purchase another to run 2 screens.

Thats why i thought the new 5k retina display would be good as it is essentially inclusive. So i got quoted an iMac 5k Retina with the following spec for $3829 AUD:
-3.5GHz Quad Core Intel Core i%. Turbo Boost to 3.9GHz
-16GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x8GB
-1TB Fusion Drive
-AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4GB GDDR5

I'm just wondering if there is a massive difference between the 2 and if i would be stupid not to get the PC. Also if there are any recommended changes to any of the specs on either that would be really helpful too.

Thanks!
6 REPLIES 6
Stephen Dolbee
Booster