BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Sustainable design
About EcoDesigner, Energy Evaluation, Life Cycle Assessment, etc.

Using Ecodesigner to make a zero C02 emission house?

Anonymous
Not applicable
I started playing around a little bit with Ecodesigner.
I was wondering if I can create a totaly zero-CO2 emissions house using Ecodesigner? Is this possible?

Thanks.
18 REPLIES 18
Anonymous
Not applicable
You can achieve a zero-emission house with good design, whigh does not depend on the software you use.

Ecodesigner versions older that #15 were pretty much a "green toy": I have not yet seen any validation paper for the calculation results. With old Ecodesigner you can get pretty graphs that will help you sell your design, it won't help you design better. I would not trust those results at all though.

With version #15 (which we have not yet tested personally), you can use Ecodesigner to export data from your Archicad BIM model to the PHPP.

The PHPP (Passivhaus Projektierungspaket) is the calculation spreadsheet developed by the German Passivhaus Institut to design passive houses. (more info on www.passiv.de and on http://passipedia.passiv.de/passipedia_en/start) (PHPP is for sale for about 150€).

I'll be testing ED15 and PHPP in the next couple of months, so if you want, we can keep in touch on this forum.
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thank you for the reply Mr. Bonilauri.
And yes, I would like to stay in contact, and here the results of your testings. Thank you on that.

I still do not own an Archicad 15, and some time will pass until I buy it.

So I was wondering if I could "play" (and I mean literally, as like you said versions before Ecodesigner 15 are toys, and I believe you) a little bit with with Ecodesigner on Archicad 14.