Wishes
Post your wishes about Graphisoft products: Archicad, BIMx, BIMcloud, and DDScad.

Custom Attribute Indexing

Lingwisyer
Guru
Hi all,

This is a wish regarding the management of the Index Number assigned to materials, complex profiles and such. It would be good if we were able to assign and modify the Index Number of attributes so that it is easier to manage changes between different files.

eg. Materials
Index 1-300: Template Materials
Index 301-500: Project Specific
Index 501+: Other

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks Ling for posting the wish!

AC24 has Reindex. IMO not a perfect solution to avoid "Attribute Avalanches" after multiple hotlinked files update. But at least now we have a shovel.
Perhaps AC25 will bring us a dedicated linkable multiple attribute file.

Anyway... Thanks for the people involved in this feature. It shows that despite your lack of time and resources you are still hearing us. Much appreciated!

James B
Graphisoft
Graphisoft
You're welcome, and thanks for sharing the video 😉
James Badcock
Graphisoft Senior Product Manager

Looks like we have got the attribute reindexer in AC 24.  Now we have a problem of limit of the number we can apply to a custom attribute index number. 32767.  This is the maximum number of elements in a GDL array.  Funnily enough it appears that the issue I am having applies to elements that are based around GDL.