Wishes forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grouping to make an instance (component).

Yury
Newcomer
Now Grouping is only for helping to hold object together, and for easy selecting. But it would be magic if Grouping to be able to create an instance! Like Components in Sketchup or instances in 3d max. So, if i model something by morph, copies of it can be modified by edit only one of them! Not for only morph. For any objects, that can be grouped.
20 REPLIES 20

Barry Kelly
Have you explored saving elements as a Module?

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 25
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 10

Lingwisyer
Virtuoso
All we need is that wish for in model editing of modules to be implemented! We can always hope...

Ling.
AC18-23 AUS 7000
Self-taught, bend it till it breaks.
Win10 | E5620 x 2 | 24GB | K2200

Yury
Newcomer
Barry wrote:
Have you explored saving elements as a Module?

Barry.
Of course! But the fastest way to do it: 1. create model of necessary objects by morph or other 2. Store the original morph somewhere in the project 3. Save morphs and any other as GDL 4. Use any quantity of copies of this GDL object. 4. Edit the origin morph 5. Save edited morph as GDL (rewrite with same name). But, i think you understand how many limitations has this method. And MODULE has even more limitations. Unlike other architecture programs Archicad is on the way to make working process maximally free, intuitive and flexible. So in this way i say about block (like in AutoCAD), component/dynamic component (in Sketchup), instance (in 3d MAX). MODULE in the end, with edit-in-place function to reduce annoying extra actions. MORPH with instances ability. Or....just...Group command works like BLOCK in AutoCAD....

sboydturner
Newcomer