Wishes
Post your wishes about Graphisoft products: Archicad, BIMx, BIMcloud, and DDScad.

Make .pln and .bpn Windows file icons more distiguishable

Anonymous
Not applicable
Please make the standard Windows icons more distinguishable. Like completelety red .bpn icon instead of the tiny red arrow.
11 REPLIES 11
Lingwisyer
Guru
You could sort by file type instead of name. In doing so all of your .pln files will be grouped seperately to your .bpn files. You could also probably remove the default program for .bpn files within your system settings which should change the icon for them to a blank white page or with a bit more fiddling, replace the default icon with one of your choosing.

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 
Barry Kelly
I make sure to turn off the option to "Hide extension for known file types" in the file manager settings.
At least this way you see the ".BPN" and ".PLN" extensions.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Lingwisyer
Guru
I make sure to turn off the option to "Hide extension for known file types" in the file manager settings.

First thing I do on a fresh install. =D

felcunha
Expert
Piet_vannie_kalahari wrote:
Please make the standard Windows icons more distinguishable. Like completelety red .bpn icon instead of the tiny red arrow.
I agree ! Often my students and architects I teach don't pay attention to which is each and open the .bak instead of the .pln.
They don't have to be experts on Windows (sometimes they event don't have the rights to do it)...
Felipe Ribeiro Cunha

AC 26, macOS Monterey
Josh Verran
Expert
From my limited understanding, isn't most software set up to automatically associate a "hidden" attribute to these background file types?