Wishes
Post your wishes about Graphisoft products: Archicad, BIMx, BIMcloud, and DDScad.

autocad style selection or something similar

Anonymous
Not applicable
This has probably been mentioned before...
I really dislike having to select the arrow button and then selecting partial or entire elements selection....it''s a waste of clicks
28 REPLIES 28
TomWaltz
Participant
I used Autocad for a few years and I always hated the right-left left-right selection thing. It seemed really inconsistent and I always found myself fighting it.
Tom Waltz
Anonymous
Not applicable
Lukas,

You are dead right, it has been mentioned before (see post)

But unfortunately you tend to get the same tired old responses from anyone who hasn't used AutoCAD or Allplan or any other CAD package whose programmers have realised this is a really smart feature.

I have been using ArchiCAD for about 15 years, but only used Allplan for about a year, and I immediately found the AutoCAD selection method extremely useful, and have therefore tried to add my weight and my poll to the topic.

I just wish some of our fellow ArchiCAD users would realise that Graphisoft can and must look at how other CAD software works and pick out the smart ideas to incorporate in ArchiCAD.

The smart thing to do is what Allplan does, and that is to give users a choice of:
  • selecting elements entirely within the selection box (as ArchiCAD)
    selecting elements within and crossing the direction box (as ArchiCAD)
    selecting elements by the direction the selection box is drawn (the AutoCAD selection method)
Allplan also tints the selection box depending on the direction, which helps remind you what method you are using.

And Tom & Rob,

I guess if Graphisoft had posted a poll about say the tracker, they would have had a number of users who said we don't want this feature, and yet after a few weeks you feel like you can't do without it. For me the AutoCAD style selection is the same.