Wishes forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

file path for "save as"

Dave Brach
Contributor
I request that when I go to "File>Save As" that the default location is NOT the last location a file was saved, but rather the last location that the CURRENT file was saved. We are a small firm with small projects and do not use solo projects, not teamwork. I cannot tell you how many times over the past 10 years we have saved files in the "wrong" folder (folder for a different project). It has happened literally hundreds of times. I just spent 2 hours transferring changes from a file I worked on last week, but saved in the wrong place, to a file that one of my employees was updating today...
Dave Brach/architect
Salt Lake City USA
www.brachdesign.com
AC24 MBP OS Catalina 10.15.7
2.6 GHz 6core intel core i7 16 GB RAM
Radeon Pro 555X 4096 MB
Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
10 REPLIES 10

DGSketcher
Advisor
+1 You should make this a wish!

I assume this is a Mac problem, but nevertheless it is frustrating locating and moving files. It certainly knocks confidence as to whether you have the latest version of a file. These days I keep the live file with its original name and any security copies or archives have yyyymmdd added tothe file name. This way any misplaced files can be easily identified and sorted. Life would be a lot easier though if AC just opened the current file location for any new drawing backups etc
Apple iMac macOS Big Sur / AC24UKI (most recent builds)

Barry Kelly
Moderator
DGSketcher wrote:
I assume this is a Mac problem

Nope, happens on Windows as well.
I guess part of 'Saving As' is giving the file a new name and telling it where to save.
I am just lazy.
I wish it would default to the folder where the file was opened from.
But then there may be others that want it to go to where they last saved so they don't have to go looking for that folder again.

We shall see.
I will create a poll and we can all vote.


Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 25
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 10

Dave Brach
Contributor
....by the way i meant to say "we use solo projects, not teamwork"
Dave Brach/architect
Salt Lake City USA
www.brachdesign.com
AC24 MBP OS Catalina 10.15.7
2.6 GHz 6core intel core i7 16 GB RAM
Radeon Pro 555X 4096 MB
Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB

Anonymous
Not applicable
Same here...too many times saved in wrong folder!

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
For macOS users you have this option:

https://www.stclairsoft.com/DefaultFolderX/
eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro 2.4 i9 32GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

jl_lt
Newcomer
This is particularly cumbersome if you have opened 3 or 4 Archicad instances to work with modules. This is not an omission, or something that could be better, or something that we should wish. This is functionality that is wrong at its most basic level and there is absolutely no justification for it to be that way in 2021. No other software i have ever encountered behaves like this when saving.

henryL
Participant
Really essential wish. I think it will be also useful to have a dedicated "export" command.

Nguyen Minh
Graphisoft Moderator
Graphisoft Moderator
Dear All,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinions!

I tried with some other software to see how it behaves between saving/opening. What I found is that the Open/Save dialog always seems to remember the last location it was used. So maybe this is not something that we can alter, as it is on the OS level. Could you help me with some examples of which software has a similar function to this wish?

Best regards,
Minh

Minh Nguyen
Technical Support Engineer
GRAPHISOFT

jl_lt
Newcomer
Hi Mr Mguyen. Thats normally the case, that is, any software remembers the location of the file you are working on EVERYTIME, regardless of how many open files you have. If you open project A, it will always save on project A location, no matter if you previously worked on project B,C, etc.

In Archicad, If you worked on project A, and then work on project B from another folder, project B will save on Project A folder if not careful.

Also, if you open more than one Archicad session, the software remembers the last location of the last file saved regardless of the session, so if you work on project A and B at the same time and save on B, then A will also save on B folder.

That is as far as i can remember, since im now behaviorily conditioned to use "save as" and always select the correct folder, which is, at the very least, annoying.

Nguyen Minh
Graphisoft Moderator
Graphisoft Moderator
Hello,

Thank you for the input!

I was able to reproduce the issue, this time with ticking "Launch a new instance of Archicad" when opening another file with Archicad. My observation is:
- First, open file 1
- In file 1's window, File > Open > navigate to file 2 > tick Launch a new instance of Archicad
- In file 2's window, if you go to File > Open or Save as, the location is at file 1
Looks like file 2 carried over the location of file 1 instead of using its correct folder.

On the other hand, I was unable to reproduce the issue with saving in one session, got carried over to other sessions:


Anyhow, now that I know how to reproduce it, I have entered the first one into our Wish List database (please refer to it as IDEA-1386)

Feel free to let me know your further opinions and experiences with this issue!
Thank you very much!
Best regards,
Minh

Minh Nguyen
Technical Support Engineer
GRAPHISOFT

Still looking?

Browse more topics

Back to forum

See latest solutions

Accepted solutions

Start a new discussion!