Choose your top Archicad wishes!

Read more
Archicad C++ API
About Archicad add-on development using the C++ API.

Bundling .gsm files

kency
Booster

Hello Team,

We would like to bundle a set of gsm files with the Add-On. I got to know from my previous query in the community that it is possible. The documentation mentions about a Stair Marker Add-On which I could not find in the Examples folder.  However, I am not yet clear on how to add a folder while building the bundle. (I am new to C++ as well). Any guidance on how to add a folder to the bundle would be really helpful.

kency_0-1700588992293.png

I have been able to successfully load a folder into the library using the below snippet:

GSErrCode CreateLibrary (void)
{
    IO::Location newLib("~/Work/library/types/gsm");
    GSErrCode err;
    err = ACAPI_Environment (APIEnv_AddLibrariesID, &newLib);
    if (err == NoError){
       std::cout << "New library has been loaded" << std::endl;
    }
    return err;
}

3 REPLIES 3

Hi Kency,

This is possible, but there are quite a lot of things to take care of. It took me a while to get this working.

Here are a few thoughts/tips:

1. You can use ACAPI_Goodies with APIAny_GetBuiltInLibpartUnIdID (<= AC26) or ACAPI_LibraryPart_GetBuiltInLibpartUnId (AC27) to get the the library part unique id from its resource id. "132" is the resource id in your screenshot.
  2. As you have found, ACAPI_Register_BuiltInLibrary (<=AC26) or ACAPI_AddOnIntegration_RegisterBuiltInLibrary (AC27) is important. I think this also requires your CheckEnvironment function to return APIAddon_Preload.
  3. Make sure that your Resource build step includes the file! You might have to adapt the CompileResources.py script in case you are using the CMake templates.

Side Note: The stair-maker Add-On is not an available example project. It was shipped a few versions ago with Archicad I think.

Hope that helps,
Bernd