Project data & BIM
About BIM-based management of attributes, schedules, templates, favorites, hotlinks, projects in general, quality assurance, etc.
SOLVED!

Hotlink Modules and Libraries

Eduardo Viana
Contributor

Hello,

I have big model in which I have placed some pre-existing buildings as hotlink modules. I have no experience dealing  with libraries or modules so I'm having some trouble with some issues:

When I open the main model in one of my colleague's computer the materials are not imported  - and they're all from Archicad standart library.

The pre-existing models that are placed as hotlink modules don't import the windows, doors and other objects properties. The window is there but not with all the characteristics I have previously defined.

EduardoViana_0-1633104024498.png

How do I assure that all the info and libraries that are used in a model are imported when turned into hotlink modules?

Is there an easier way to work with different models?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Erwin Edel
Rockstar

The surfaces being different means you do not have the attributes of both files the same.

For example the green door turning to a wood pattern (I think?): if you go into attribute manager you will likely see that these two different surfaces have the same internal ID number.

Working with different files and hotlinks requires some discipline with managing attributes: layers, fills, line types, surfaces, building material, composites, complex profiles, etc

Beyond that as already pointed out, there also model view options, but also graphic overrides that could make things look different. This is not always a bad thing, because sometimes you would like your model to be less detailed, without having to change the settings of elements (which you also can't do with a hotlinked module, without changing the module).

Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-26NED FULL
Windows 10 Pro
Adobe Design Premium CS5