BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Can't define IFC site object?

R Muller
Enthusiast
It appears to be impossible to define any archicad object as an IFC site object. The object settings include the IFC Element Type classification setting, but the pull-down menu for classification does not include an option for "site".

I can set IFC export options to translate meshes to IFC site objects, as long as the meshes are set to "Automatic" in their object classification settings. However, even though I can set export options to create the IFC site "from meshes and IFC site objects", I can't seem to create any IFC site objects.

Is this right? Or is there some other way to do it? I am new to IFC...

I find that the meshes retain their SEO operations on translation to IFC, but walls and slabs that I intersected with the meshes do not retain their shapes. Since these walls and slabs are my roads and sidewalks, they should really be site objects as well, but I cannot find any way to define them as such.
R Muller
AC 26 USA (20+ years on ArchiCAD)
MBP 64GB Apple M1 Max OS 12.1 Monterey
3 REPLIES 3
Erika Epstein
Booster
A work around suggested is to save the site as a library part. will this work for you?
Erika
Architect, Consultant
MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch Yosemite 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Mac OSX 10.11.1
AC5-18
Onuma System

"Implementing Successful Building Information Modeling"
R Muller
Enthusiast
I'm hopeful that it will work without needing to save the site as a library part. Since I posted yesterday I have done some move investigating.