BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

IFC Exporting similar walls in different ways

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello everyone,

I am an engineer collaborating with architects, and we are currently looking into optimizing the translation of ArchiCAD models for Revit using IFC.

I've managed to create a model in ArchiCAD 23, export as IFC, import to revit, and keep working on that model using revit geometry. This is a great workflow that improves the teamwork on both sides.

However, the architect was not able to do so using ArchiCAD 22. I asked him to send his geometry to me wihch I opened with ArchiCAD 23. I found out that, although looking exactly similar, his geometry is being translated differently to IFC. Namely one is a wall, the other one is a building part (see screenshot attached).

I am a complete beginner in ArchiCAD. The question is, is there any hidden parameter that I am missing which explains why, in the same model, similar walls are exported in different ways?

The archicad model is here:
https://mab.to/rJPZNoDfR

Thanks a lot for your help,
Pedro
15 REPLIES 15
Hello,

"...hidden parameter..."

There is no hidden parameter
I invite you to check your ifc export translator and tell us which you use
Christophe - FRANCE
Archicad Designer and Teacher
Archicad 15 to 27 FRA FULL

OS 11.6 Big Sur - MacBook Pro 2017 - 16Go RAM
"Quality is never an accident ; it's always the result of an intelligent effort" John Ruskin
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks for reaching out Christophe.