BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.
SOLVED!

Save as ArchiCAD as an IFC format Error Message

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi Everyone,

I am an absolute beginner with ArchiCAD. I have been trying to save as an ArchiCAD model as an IFC file but I couldn't manage to do so neither export an IFC file nor import an IFC file generated from Revit, and I need it urgently as I need to complete my dissertation about BIM Software Interoperability. I will be extremely grateful if you could help me to figure out where I am doing wrong.

Untitled01.jpg
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
Use the "File\Interoperability\IFC\IFC Local Preferences" menu command to open its Dialog.
In the "Express Data Manager (EDM) path" field, click the "Redefine" button to select another folder.
Loving Archicad since 1995 - Find Archicad Tips at x.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen9 5900X CPU, 64 GB RAM 3600 MHz, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), Windows 10 PRO ENG, Ac20-Ac27

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Barry Kelly
Press the "Change" button and save somewhere else - i.e. your local hard drive - and make sure the file path is not to long.

That seems to be the obvious answer.

Are you simply trying to "Save As" from your plan and changing the file type to IFC?
Have you tried different translators?
At what step in the process are you getting this message?

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
Dear Barry,