Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

CAD BIM Anxiety, Frustration, Stress, Irritation, & Health

Gus
Newcomer
Has anyone else noticed that using CAD or BIM software regularly makes them Anxious, Frustrated, Stressed Out, Irritated, or even Angry?

I have been using software like this for about 15 years now. I'm pretty damn good at it, but not until recently have I realized that no matter how long I use this software, it never causes less of the above symptoms. I thought for years that I would get over these things, if I only obtained a better understanding of the software. It turns out (at least for me) that since the software improves every year, and the templates need to be updated every year, that we never stop learning how to draft.

It used to be, years ago, that 90% of an architects drafting skills were learned after the first few couple years, then after that they were free to spend most of their time designing rather than learning how to draft. Now days, an architect continues to learn how to draft every single year they are in practice until they finally reach the age where they abandon drafting all together because they have fallen too far behind, and other younger architects can draft for them anyway. Eventually, I assume, some older architects start to feel almost obsolete because they don't know how to use the design tools anymore.

Keeping up, is frustrating. It never ends. I thus, am anxious in this profession. I'm finding sitting behind my computer all day every day eternally stressful, not to mention physically unhealthy.

Does anyone else feel like this?
How do you view this?
How are you managing this?
How do you think you will manage this in the long run?
www.michaelgustavson.com Architect NY WI IL
Madison WI
Archicad21 MEP EcoDesSTAR Win10-64-bit
EliteBook8570W Corei7-3630QM@2.40GHz
QuadroK2000m RAM32 (2)250GBSSDs
4 Monitors Internet:4Up60Down
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable