Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Profile to follow slope of roof

4hotshoes
Advisor
Can I use the same complex profile for a roof eave and rake? I want it to look the same with the detailed fascia and soffit wrapping and joining at the peak. I pretty sure I can do the eave with the fascia perpendicular to the roof plain. But it is not clear how to get it to wrap the corner and follow up the slope. I know that I can thicken the roof and set the ends, but I want to add detail to the profile. Is there a video for this? Can it be done? I am still new to AC. Thanks

Todd
Todd Oeftger
AC27 Mac MacBook Pro 15", 2019, 2.3 GHz i9, 32GB, Radeon Pro 560X 4GB, 500GB SSD, 32" Samsung Display (2560x1440)
18 REPLIES 18
Lingwisyer
Guru
I am assuming that by using the outside edge of the profile, then offsetting it, solves the kinked connection issue as it now has the offset edge to work with before it reaches the corner? Though this only works when you have exterior corners as interior corners have the opposite kink which is made worse by the offset.

Rather than using a Direct Connection with a Subtraction, you can use a Gooseneck with a Sloped Railing: Horizontal set to your Profile width. With one setting, you get all of your corners. Using a direct connection, you need a left side Subtraction when going from horizontal to sloped, and a right side Subtraction when going from sloped to horizontal.

I have been unable to get a tangential eave to work with an offset, so as far as I can tell, an offset is only required for a vertical eave.
The direction of the profile (which side of the origin it is on) will determine which direction you have to draw the railing (I think - I am still testing all of this).

The direction of the profile depends on how it is drawn relative to it's origin. ie. If it is drawn with the outside edge facing the right side, then you draw the railing anti-clockwise and vice versa.

Ling.