Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Trim top of wall

Beginner
Participant

Beginner_0-1665223370847.png
I would like to trim the walls as shown in the picture. I can't trim them to the roof as they  go further up than the roof.

Hope someone can help me to the right, and hopefully easy method. I am new to Archicad, but have experience from Revit.

23 REPLIES 23

Select the wall then right click and choose connect then trim elements to roof then click on the roof and select which part of the wall will be retained.

AC 27 INT 5003 - AC 26 INT 6019 ( For MEP Purposes )
AMD Ryzen 7 5800H with Radeon Graphics 3.20 GHz 16.0 GB

It looks like you want to effectively create a parapet around the edge so the walls are higher than the roof but follow the profile of the roof edge indicated by your red line. The only way I know to do this is to actually add another small roof over the walls you want to trim at the higher level but place them on a new layer you can turn off do the roofs are not visible. Although I’m reality the wall will likely be capped with a profile of some sort so you could leave them in place. 

Lee Hankins
ArchiCAD 4.5 - Archicad 27UKI Apple Silicon 27.1.1
macOS Sonoma (14.2)

This does not work for me as the walls are higher than the top of the roof,

I ended up trimming them to a "fake roof" that I deleted after the trim, but it felt like work-around and not a good pratice.

Yes I’m sorry I couldn’t get your intention until I read Lee’s post, thx.

AC 27 INT 5003 - AC 26 INT 6019 ( For MEP Purposes )
AMD Ryzen 7 5800H with Radeon Graphics 3.20 GHz 16.0 GB

That is effectively what you have to do but in reality will the wall not have some form of capping on it anyway? All of the tools in Archicad can be used for multiple real like elements. As an example, a roof can be a roof or a wall coping or a ramp or any slanted instance of an element. 

Lee Hankins
ArchiCAD 4.5 - Archicad 27UKI Apple Silicon 27.1.1