Archicad C++ API
About Archicad add-on development using the C++ API.

API DevKit sample code Element Test Hotlink struggle

szfri
Participant
Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie here so some of my questions might seem strange and I'm sorry in advance if I'm breaking any rules with my post. I'm trying to learn to understand how to program some addons. I use the API Dev Kit 24.3009. I'm an architect by profession and I have limited programming knowledge in C++.
I'm trying to make the example code Element_Test and particularly the Do_CreateHotlink function work properly, but I have some problems.
First of all it doesn't seem to be an out of the box solution since the pln module file used in the original source code is not included in the example code. So I tried to replace it with an own one. The addon seems to run properly up until the ACAPI_Element_Create function. Then there's no result, no error messages, one can continue to work with Archicad as if nothing happened.
What am I missing? Did I use an improper way of constructing the sourceFileLoc parameter? That is the only part of the code that I changed. Unfortunately the documentation included with the DevKit is not explaining explicitly how to use the ACAPI_Element_Create function to create a hotlink element. Or at least I didn't find that part yet.

Here's the code as a reminder:
GSErrCode	Do_CreateHotlink (void)
{
	API_Guid hotlinkNodeGuid = APINULLGuid;

IO::Location sourceFileLoc("c:\\Users\\dell7559\\Desktop\\module.pln"); //my way of replacing the default pln file

API_HotlinkNode hotlinkNode;
	BNZeroMemory (&hotlinkNode, sizeof (API_HotlinkNode));
	hotlinkNode.type = APIHotlink_Module;
	hotlinkNode.storyRangeType = APIHotlink_AllStories;
	hotlinkNode.sourceLocation = &sourceFileLoc;
	hotlinkNode.refFloorInd = 0;
	GS::ucsncpy (hotlinkNode.name, L("Hotlink created by test add-on"), API_UniLongNameLen - 1);

GSErrCode err = ACAPI_Database (APIDb_CreateHotlinkNodeID, &hotlinkNode);
	if (err == NoError) {