BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Visualization
About built-in and 3rd party, classic and real-time rendering solutions, settings, workflows, etc.

Fly Through rendering EXTREMELY slow

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello All,

I am new to Archicad and I am trying to put together a fly through. I have had my rendering running for 360 hours and it is still not finished. Here is some info on my rendering.....It is on frame 293 of 382 in pass 12 of 13, I am running archicad 19, 40 fps, I have created many custom surfaces and morphs (i am assuming this is why it is running so slow). I ran a previous rendering with less frames and less fps but i need to create a video around a minute to a minute and a half and when i stretched it out in imovie it was too choppy/jerky (this took about a 5 days to render). To fix that i decided to add frames in between each camera and add fps to create a smoother video.

Does anyone have suggestions for my future fly through projects. I would like to be able to create decent videos without having to render for multiple weeks.

Thanks,

Matt
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi Matt,

Firstly, rendering quality smooth animations with Archicad's cinerender (i'm assuming your using the Cinerender engine) at 40fps on one computer is gonna be a big struggle.

If you could master the engine & material settings (which takes a lot of testing, practice, reading and maybe training) you could get a reasonable image quality in 10-15 mins per frame at an acceptable but lower resolution, that would still equate to 5+ hours of render time for one second of movie! (30 frames per second). Its gonna add up!! In short, too slow for quality animation work.

There are so many settings that will impact your 3d animation, let alone still renders
You're correct regarding meshes, they will definitely impact your render times....avoid them