BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Documentation
About Archicad's documenting tools, views, model filtering, layouts, publishing, etc.
SOLVED!

Camera lens offset

jc4d
Expert

Hello,

Is it possible to set a camera lens offset in Archicad?

Juan.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
JohnJay
Expert

Rotate the camera up or down to get your composition, then check the 'Use two point perspective' box in the camera settings

AC27 | i7990x | RTX4070 | W10

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Lingwisyer
Guru

Sorry, you have lost me... What do you mean by camera lens offset? Is this to do with the Camera Tool? Offset from what?

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660
jc4d
Expert

Hard to explain, let's say that you have a nice camera set with a good point of view, but there is too much floor an a little bit of sky, so the lens offset will move the camera up or down without affecting the perspective.

Here is an example from Blender:

Original camera:

jc4d_0-1651740640281.png

With lens offset:

jc4d_1-1651740677583.png

As you can see the perspective or camera height hasn't change at all, only the lenses has gotten a offset.

Hope it makes sense 😊

Juan.

Solution
JohnJay
Expert

Rotate the camera up or down to get your composition, then check the 'Use two point perspective' box in the camera settings

The closest I think you can do in Archicad is to elevate the camera (move command).

This will move the camera and target heights by the same amount.

But it will affect your perspective because you are moving the camera.

Otherwise I would just increase the camera height and leave the target height as it is so you are still looking at the same target.

Otherwise, once you place your view on a layout, you can crop the frame.