Choose your top Archicad wishes!

Read more
Documentation
About Archicad's documenting tools, views, model filtering, layouts, publishing, etc.

Composites - From Presentation to Construction Docs

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello all!

New to the forum here. I've been using AC 18 for a few months now (with 4+ years of Revit under my belt, so I've seen both sides of it), and have been sticking out trying to figure out most of my issues on my own. But this one has been plaguing me for a while, and I haven't been able to figure out a good solution. Also, a small disclaimer--I did look around the forums a bit to try and find this answer already, but to no avail. Here goes:

I'm basically trying to see if there is a way to have AC show two different Model Views--one for Presentation, with just thick wall contour lines and a shaded fill for more diagrammatic drawings, and the other for Construction documents, showing wall build up (ie GWB, wood framing, etc). The issue I'm running into is switching back and forth between the two. I can get each to work independently by changing the composite of the wall and its pen weights, but I can't seem to get a setup that makes both work in each Model view without manually changing it.

For wall types like a standard wood stud wall with GWB on both sides, in Construction Docs I want the wood framing core to have the thick cut lines (Pen 5), and the GWB finish to have a thinner line(Pen 3). But, if I set it up this way (Option A), when I put Presentation model view back on the wall only shows the cut as the GWB thickness (Pen 3), not reading well at all. If I set it up the opposite (Option B), with the GWB as Pen 5, it reads fine in Presentation View but when I switch to Construction Documents, it reads incorrectly as well. See attached image for reference. Seems to me like there has to be a way to make them both work to show the proper build up and pen weights in CDs, but have the cut line show up thick in Presentation Mode.