Documentation
About Archicad's documenting tools, views, model filtering, layouts, publishing, etc.
SOLVED!

Different floor plan display for different views

Howen Chang
Contributor

Hi community,

I'm very new to ArchiCAD and are now building my own template for office use

The problem that I've encountered now is that I can't manage to have different floor plan display for different views, which prevents me to achieve some automated stuff that I would like to have

Let me explain this 

The things that I want to do is to set up views for general plan which will be used for Development Application also views for construction drawings which could be send to builders / trades

As shown in below first floor plan, I want the ground floor deck to be visible in first floor as well so I set the element's display to be ALL STORIES. That will be suitable for general submission for Development Application

First Floor Plan - General.jpg

But when I want to generate first floor concrete set-out plan for the builder, I only want the slab from the home story to show, which I can't manage to do that with the element's display setting to be All Stories

First Floor Plan - Concrete outline.jpg

I've tried to change the Floor Plan Cut Plane, but seems like the element's display setting has a higher priority than the floor plan cut plane setting.

I'm not sure if I misunderstood the logic of this or if their are alternatives to achieve the same result that I wish to build

Thank you all in advance for providing the solutions!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Karl Ottenstein

Howen,

There are often cases where a single view cannot show what you want in unique cases.  A very old trick is to “stack” multiple views on top of each other in a Layout to get the desired result, if the available tools can’t give the exact result desired.