BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Documentation
About Archicad's documenting tools, views, model filtering, layouts, publishing, etc.
SOLVED!

Renovation: Ganged Windows

Lingwisyer
Guru
Hi all,

I have a window that is to be removed (width marked by witness lines on the right) and replaced by a larger series of windows. In "Demolishing" this window, a "New" wall is created to fill the hole left behind. A new set of ganged windows is then created spanning over this hole.

It would appear that "New" walls created by "Demolishing" prevent windows, and I would assume doors, from ganging in plan within their area? Is there something I have missed or some work around to get them to gang properly?

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660
11 REPLIES 11
ChrisB
Participant
Barry,

Similar thoughts but as you can’t have a window/door without first forming the opening, I would prefer it if the window/door object was associated with/attached to the opening instead i.e opening tool becomes the primary tool with window/door as option. Ideally…
  • Place opening in wall using enhanced (custom shape, lintel option, cavity closers option, display on home story only, invisible fill option to boundary instead of inherit from wall) opening tool
  • Add standard Archicad window/door object to opening i.e. no longer associated to wall but associated with opening instead. Move the opening, the window/door/lintel/cavity closers move with it etc
  • Following issue of basic window/door schedule, the ability to replace the standard window/door object with specific object provided by preferred window/door manufacturer showing correct structure/detail etc

Ling,