BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

Mac Quandery

Anonymous
Not applicable

Guys i need some help!

Im a student studying Architecture in Melbourne

I need some recommendations, I have to buy a Mac to run Archicad and iMill on for uni but are tossing up between 2 models and are looking for a hopefully long term, yet also inexpensiver option which really is a contradiction considering the alternatives.

Option 1 is to buy a G5 1.8ghz 20inch iMac, and upgrade putting in another 512mb ram. This appears to be more than satisfactory for the use of archicad and associated software am i right?

Option 2 is to buy a new Mac Mini 1.42ghz, for which I already have 19in LCD and mouse etc. I would upgrade this to a 1gb ram and a superdrive as well as an external 160gb HD.
Is there any way that this would run ArchiCAD sufficiently?

There is of course my dillemma between spending AUS$1800 and AUS $3000 as a student who cannot see this technology lasting much further than the end of my 5 year degree. Surely something new will be available.

Can you please recommend to me the sensibility and practicality of these options. I understand that the mini mac is not as powerful processor, but would that amount of ram support archicad? The other worry is the capability of the graphics card in the mini, which i take is very inferior to the G5.

I would appreciate any information and tips you could give to me!

Cheers,

Toby
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable
Sorry to say, the mini will not hack it. It is not the Ram. 1 gig of ram is enough. It's the G4 processor. I find AC9 frustratingly slow on our G4. You will kick yourself every time you count the seconds while you wait for your library part to turn 45° in the tool box.
Greg Kmethy
Graphisoft
Graphisoft