Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

!Restored: Dealing with Stories

Anonymous
Not applicable
I'm new to AutoCAD (no, no, no, oops.... ARCHICAD) and need some help figuring out the program. I've tried using the tutorials but they always use trace elements and I need to be able to start from scratch.

I've drawn the first story of a house (basement) and added a second story. I want to be able to control the parts of the first story that are viewable from the second floor plan. When I first created the new story above the current one, the first story wasn't visible at all. I clicked around (not sure what I did) but soon the first story was visible, though gray (just like I wanted it). I drew the second story wall, then viewed it in 3-D. My elevations were off so I went into the story settings and made adjustments. Actually I think I ended up doing some adjustments in 3-D mode. Now when I'm viewing the 2nd floor plan the 2nd story wall is gray just like the first story wall. Here are the settings on the wall:
Home Story: Current (2. Main Floor)
Floor Plan Display:
* show on all relevant stories
* Floor plan display - Projected w/ Overhead
* Show Projection - Entire Element (also tried to Floor Plan Range)
Wall Priority on the four second floor walls are set to 6 (basement wall is set to eight.)

I think it has something to do with Trace and Reference. If it is ON then all elements are gray. When I turn it OFF, all elements are dark and active. I want to have all 2nd floor elements dark but still see the 1st elements, gray in the background.

Please help!
13 REPLIES 13
Ralph Wessel
Mentor
David wrote:
Ouch. When did I become my father? ; )
If you haven't already, you are inexorably heading that way
Ralph Wessel BArch
Chazz
Enthusiast
David wrote:
Ouch. When did I become my father?
Father, forgive me for I hath sinned.....
Nattering nabob of negativism
2023 MBP M2 Max 32GM. MaxOS-Current
Stress Co_