It doesn't sound like autosave.
In 16 this can be set to save every step (ultra safe) and it is extremely quick.
If you look closely at the status bar you will see a bulldozer symbol and the word"Autosaving..."
The cursor changing to a circle means that the machine is busy thinking about something but I don't thik it is the sutosave.
Also the autosave delays itself if you are still busy working.
Does this happen in all jobs?
Do you have a trace reference turned on?
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 25
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 10